Side Street Inn: Aloha to LOST

After six seasons, my love affair with the survivors of Oceanic flight 815 comes to a tragic (and completely unacceptable) end this Sunday, May 23. For years, I looked forward to a new episode of LOST every week and, even when when the season ended, I knew it was coming back. Now I don’t know what to do! I suppose I’ll start with the tips in this final Dharma Initiative Orientation video from Jimmy Kimmel Live.
As a tribute to LOST and the 120-ish hours I’ve spent watching the show (not counting the time spent watching episodes more than once…), I thought I’d write a Hawai’i post about one of favorite places to grind (a.k.a. stuff my face) when I’m home.
Located in an industrial area near Ala Moana Shopping Center more immediately recognizable for its seedy bars and strip clubs than award-winning food, Side Street Inn is a hidden hotspot that is a favorite with locals. Don’t let the shady exterior (or interior with neon signs and dart boards lining the walls) fool you; Hawai’i’s premier chefs have long visited Side Street Inn after closing up their own kitchens for the night, and even Anthony Bourdain was bowled over by the food on his Hawai’i episode of No Reservations.
Side Street Inn
Photo courtesy of thegirlsny
At this point, my family and I have our Side Street Inn ordering down to a science.
We always start with the Farmer’s Salad ($12.00), which combines local greens, tomatoes, onions and avocado with shrimp, capers and lemon vinaigrette. This salad uses so many delicious local ingredients, and I never cease to be delighted by the juxtaposition of the mild flavors of the shrimp and avocado against the tang of the capers and vinaigrette. So ono (delicious).
Farmer's Salad @ Side Street Inn
On my last visit, we gave the shrimp scampi (black tiger shrimp sauteed with mushrooms, zucchini and capers in garlic butter, $13.00) a try. Although each bite of the perfectly cooked shrimp resulted in a satisfying *snap*, the veggies were a little overcooked and too soft for my liking. Oh well, nothing tons of garlic butter and parmesan can’t cure.
Shrimp Scampi @ Side Street Inn
We Hawai’i natives love our white rice. Thus, an order of musubi ($3.50) to accompany dinner is a necessity. Although musubi are frequently served with spam, Side Street Inn serves them as little triangles of rice wrapped in nori and topped with furikake (dried nori and sesame seeds).

Musubi @ Side Street Inn

Any meal at Side Street Inn is incomplete without their kalbi (Korean shortribs with kimchi, $20.00). With the meat’s rich soy flavor and the perfect amount of char, these shortribs epitomize kalbi and are the reason I’m so picky about my kalbi. Whereas some cuts of shortrib are so thin that your teeth chomp right through each bite, these are satisfyingly thick and juicy.

Kalbi @ Side Street Inn
Mfjkoe;rithertlwkejr. Look at them!

Kalbi @ Side Street Inn
Also popular and a must-order are the pan-fried island pork chops ($21.00). These two-bite-sized pieces of pork with their wonderfully crispy, golden brown outer layer have the power to keep you eating even once you’re dangerously full. Because they’re on the drier side, the pork chops benefit from a dip in the ketchup.

Pork chops @ Side Street Inn
Finally, we have the liliko’i (passion fruit) creme brulee ($5.00). Until I recently devoured the passion fruit creme brulee from Mo-Chica, this dessert from Side Street Inn was my gold standard for all creme brulee. The liliko’i-infused custard is on the thinner side of creme brulees and, as a result, each tart spoonful immediately spreads throughout your entire mouth. Also, even the paper thin caramel layer at the top of the custard tastes like liliko’i.

Lilikoi Creme Brulee @ Side Street Inn

You have to love the touch of Hawai’i at the top!

And so, I pay tribute to one of my favorite television shows with a post about one of my favorite restaurants. Argh, I love both so much. Now, I’m just sad about the end of LOST and really, really hungry.
Side Street Inn
1225 Hopaka St.
Honolulu, HI 96814
(808) 591-0253

Side Street Inn on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Side Street Inn: Aloha to LOST

Leave a comment